Books

LOGO_Book_Lush_brown

Book Lush: What to Drink with What to Read (coming soon)

>> Click here to view Book Lush on Kickstarter now.

The Breakup Girl Series

A Breakup Girl is a woman that repeatedly, reliably breaks up with entities of all sorts, with boyfriends, with cities, with careers, with families. A Breakup Girl may even break up with herself, move on to claim a new identity. A Breakup Girl is a woman in the midst of change.

Smart Girl Dumb Love

Smart Girl, Dumb Love: Three Stories about Young Love

>> Buy on Amazon.

Smart like Lydia Davis, bold like Chelsea Handler and relentlessly funny like Mindy Kaling, these short stories these three fast-paced stories about smart girls making dumb love will smack you off your feet and have you pleading for more.

– Read a checklist of the top five things your lovers will hate about you.
– Take a journey with the girl who just can’t commit, even though her high-school sweetheart is practically perfect.
– Live the life of a girl exposed, literally, to prying eyes.

Bonus story: Includes an excerpt from Kelsye Nelson’s upcoming novel, THE SECRET LIFE OF SENSEI SHI.

Oh-Grow-UpOh Grow Up: Three Stories about Girls

>> View now on Amazon.

How exactly does a girl become The Breakup Girl? These three stories take a look at life from the perspective of three clever, troubled and inconvenienced young girls faced with choices that threaten to disrupt their carefully constructed understandings of The Way Things Are.

In “Oh Grow Up” you’ll enjoy captivating stories of daughters and fathers, finding bravery and taking the first big plunge. Lush and intense, you’ll find yourself drawn in and cheering hard for these scrappy girls.

Bonus content includes a video of the author telling a real-life story of finally getting her revenge on her father after his decades-long campaign to embarrass her in public.

“These stories are powerful and so well written. They all resonated with me, but I was especially moved by Weekend Dad. Reminds me so much of my relationship with my dad when I was young. Also reminds me of the Harry Chapin song Cat’s in the Cradle. Reading these three stories has made me an instant fan of Kelsye Nelson. She can WRITE.”

– Ingrid Ricks, Author of HIPPIE BOY

HookedHooked: Four Stories about Modern Love

>> View now on Amazon.

Fans of Raymond Carver and Lydia Davis will love these short stories of modern love affairs crafted with thoughtful, lyrical prose.

The four short stories in HOOKED show a darker, more contemplative side of The Breakup Girl. We meet characters well entrenched in their first marriages, yet struggling still with challenges such as depression, ambition and lust.

Familiar and well-drawn, Nelson’s characters welcome us into the most intimate moments of their lives, where we witness first-hand their private triumphs and failures in a universe of different loves.